What I know For Sure…….

Last week my nephew & I were on a mission to fill Operation Christmas Box’s…well I was on a mission to teach Brycn about giving & Brycn was on a mission to teach me how to loosen up. In trying to explain that we were filling these shoe boxes for kid’s in far away country’s that might have never received a present….EVER, or maybe this was going to be their only present he was looking at me with a “Ya right” look. As we went up & down the isles, I would ask him do you think the girl or boy would like this or need this….he looked vague & asked if he could have one of the items in the box. I was thinking how can I explain what we really are doing. That giving is good and it doesn’t have to cost anything like giving a smile or a good morning or opening a door for someone. How doing for people actually enriches our lives. So I talked (probably to much), he listened (I was hoping) we shopped, we paid. As we were leaving the store he scooted in front of me & looked at me with that Damn Sweet grin & opened the door for me. Holding back tears of joy, I smiled & thanked him. We filled the boxes & I said I needed to take a picture of him for the recipient of box & he needed to write a message on the back. He asked what he should write, I gave him a couple of ideas expecting him to write the same thing on each picture but again I was taken back by the time he took to meticulously print a special individual message for each box. Again I felt my eyes leaking…he did get it.

What I know for sure is my nephew is awesome, keep talking & teaching they are listening, patience is a virtue, expect only good & good you will get.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Connie House
    Nov 22, 2012 @ 07:20:25

    Wow, what a great story to start my day with, thanks

    Reply

  2. Lorie-Lynn Miller
    Nov 24, 2012 @ 15:53:25

    tears in my eyes too!

    Reply

  3. Raven Style
    Nov 24, 2012 @ 20:14:33

    Thxs Ladies….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

