What’s Red, Packs A Punch, but no one eats cuz it’s hard to get into…..

Pomegranate my friends, that’s what!!! We associate or maybe just me a pomegranate as a decorative addition to a martini…but to put a bowel of these luscious fruit out or incorporate into an interesting salad, no one does cuz its like trying to get into Pandora’s Box. Until I found the secret to get into said fruit, I thought the same thing. Here’s a simple, easy way of getting to these potassium packed gems, low cal (a whole pomegranate is only 100 calories) & they are only 99 cents.

Cut fruit in half starting from the top, then immerse pome into water. Under water pull away membrane to release seeds. Seeds will fall to bottom of bowl, membrane will float to top…strain water.

Great Health benefits in these little gems, either in a martini or a salad…enjoy !

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. glenn
    Nov 24, 2012 @ 20:02:46

    Martini w absolut vodka!

    Reply

  2. penny
    Nov 24, 2012 @ 20:12:18

    Unbelievable that you would write about pomegrantes as I just bought my first one on tues since I was 12 yrs old and I know they couldn’t have been more than 10 cents as I only got 25 centa a wk. and the show cost 15 so of coarse that left 10. I was so excited to share this experience with my grandson and he was not at all interested.I tried to explain that it lasted longer than a bag of spitz or popcorn and it was not allowed in the theatre.(guess I was always a rebel lol) and he says ” Gramma where are my dinky toys” not one bit interested in pomegrante history..This is the same child that tells me he
    needs more healthy food in his lunch not so much garbage…………I on the other hand enjoyed the pomegrante over 2 nites !!

    Reply

    • Raven Style
      Nov 24, 2012 @ 20:23:47

      Trust me Pen….he was listening. Tomorrow tell him there is a 5 spot in it if he can tell you what you told him yesterday about “The Red Fruit”. Yes you are a Rebel my Dear Friend, that’s one of your many awesomeness qualities.

      Reply

  3. Raven Style
    Nov 24, 2012 @ 20:12:54

    Absolut LY!!!!!

    Reply

  4. Connie House
    Nov 25, 2012 @ 11:21:13

    Cool, cool, cool, will try the seed extraction technique? Use to love buying and eating a pomegranate when I was a kid, but we probably only bought one a year. Keep up the interesting posts

    Reply

Leave a Reply

