Granola, Healthy Style

This granola recipe is super easy, look’s awesome, smells out of this world & tastes spectacular!!!
SONY DSC

Ingredients:

3 Cups Rolled Oats Large Flake
1 Cup Slivered Almonds
1 Cup Sunflower Seeds
1 Cup Chopped Pecans
1 Cup Unsweetened Coconut
1 Cup Flax Seeds or Ground Flax
1 Cup Raw Sunflower Seeds
1 tsp Cinnamon & Nutmeg

Blend in a large oven proof pan. Add 1/3 Cup Pure Maple Syrup & 1/3 Cup Sunflower oil. Stir well into oats & seeds to moisten evenly.
Bake in oven @ 280 Degrees for 2 1/2 hours, stirring every 1/2 hour. Remove from oven & add dried fruit. I use Dried papaya (handful chopped), pineapple (handful chopped), 1 Cup of each mango, blueberry and craisens (I buy all dried fruit at Community Health in Calgary as it’s the only place I have found dried fruit that doesn’t have sulfide dioxide added. They have in their own packaged containers & the brand Solar Gold). Sulfide Dioxide is used to prevent spoiling and browning of dried fruit and vegetables. Exposure to high levels of sulfur dioxide can cause breathing problems, emphysema, chronic bronchitis and respiratory disease…yeah I think I will pay a little bit more for dried fruit to put in my HEALTHY GRANOLA! Stir up.
Keep in fridge or I keep mine in the freezer then it lasts forever.

SONY DSC
After baking granola turns a beautiful golden brown

Makes me want to put on wool socks, a headband & go hug a tree….Peace Out Granola Eaters!

Image

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. court
    Jan 15, 2013 @ 11:07:21

    If this is the same granola you had made when I was over all the time.. it is amazing! I love it. Thanks for the recipe.

    Reply

  2. Ashley
    Jan 16, 2013 @ 20:28:31

    I loooooved this granola!!! It is the best I’ve ever had!!! Thanks

    Reply

Leave a Reply

