Chia Seeds…Packing A Punch!!!

chiaseeds
When I heard all the rant about Chia…my first thought was Chia Pet. I never had one but always thought they were cute in a…hmmmmm disturbing way. Really a guy’s head on your counter growing hair, I’ll pass.

Seemingly overnight, chia seeds became a hot commodity with runners, cyclists, triathletes and other athletes, seeking the secret to Tarahumara endurance. Soooooo you guesses it, I had to try. I have been putting it into “Green Smoothie” (an earlier Blog) for a couple of months, prior to either running or kick boxing. Trust me I need all the extra energy I can get to keep up with my workout Buddy.

I have done a bit of research on these cute little seeds. Looks like they are extremely nutritious, pack lots of concentrations of protein, fiber and several essential minerals.

This is what is said about the Health Benefits:

Chia is, appropriately, the Mayan word for strength. Chia seeds were an important energy source for Mayans, Incas and other ancient cultures, and remain a dietary staple in many South and Central American countries. Some nutritional highlights:
■Just 1 tablespoon of chia seeds contains 5 grams of fiber, 3 grams of protein, 2282 mg of Omega 3 and 752 mg of Omega 6 fatty acids! I like this cuz I do not enjoy fish.
■A significant concentration of fiber combined with their ability to absorb 10 times their weight in water also makes chia seeds excellent for maintaining regularity.
■This fiber content also helps normalize blood glucose levels by slowing the conversion of carbohydrates into sugar.
■Chia seeds contain respectable concentrations of potassium, calcium, iron, phosphorus and manganese.
■Chia seeds are extremely nutrient-dense, with one of the highest antioxidant concentrations of any known food!

K, I’m in….I now throw into muffins & cookies. So if you are a receiver of my baking, watch out!!! you will feel mighty fine & pumped after consuming……oh ya and regular, teehee.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ashley
    Feb 06, 2013 @ 06:26:01

    Thanks for the great info I always heard lots about them too but had no idea what they were all about? No I know:)
    Where do you buy them?

    Reply

    • Raven Style
      Feb 06, 2013 @ 07:28:09

      Your welcome Ash. I bought at Healthfood Grocery store “Now” brand, but I believe Superstore has them in there Natural Health Section. Just make sure the ingredients are whole chia seeds. Enjoy!

      Reply

  2. Deb W
    Feb 06, 2013 @ 09:09:20

    They are great, have been using them for a couple of years, mostly on my cereal/yogurt each morn!! Some good recipes on mychiaseeds.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

