Denim 101..Boyfriend & Skinny

There are so many choices when it comes to denim these days. Here are a few options I like & the how to’s in wearing….

The Boyfriend

boyfriend

boyfriend1

Styling Tips… No matter how you style them, there are a few things to remember when buying and wearing boyfriend jeans.

+ You want them to be relaxed and slightly baggy, but still show your curves and fit in the waist.
+ Belts are your friend. They cinch in the waist and keep the jeans from going too sloppy.
+ Look for a pair that has a worn-in look. Slightly destroyed is great too, if that’s your thing!(I’m still deciding if the distressed look makes me look like I grabbed my Granddaughter’s jeans)
+ Whether it’s sky-high heels, a lace top, or a statement necklace, add a feminine touch.
+ Boyfriend jeans should be rolled just high enough to show off the ankle but not your leg (cuz if they show leg they are called capris…barf).

The Skinny

skinny1

+While we should indeed embrace the skinny/slim leg jean, no matter what our shape or size, the clincher is all in what we wear with it. It’s that which determines whether the jeans will work for us. This is when to put your shortie boots on, or a ballet flat or a tall boot.
+If you like to cover your front and back bottoms, then I suggest you do so and go for top that hits slightly above – or at – your mid thigh. Try a floaty top or over-sized shirt (it’s about the balance)…or a longer boxy blazer to bring glam to the Skinny.
+ If you have a front and back bottom to die for, then show them off in your skinnies. Wear a long tank, draped cardi and scarf (it’s all about creating the illusion of length)
+Cuff hem into a skinny cuff when wearing with flat or thong. (2 times the hem is what I do)

I have been hearing that people are a bit upset about Superstore’s Joe commercial with the skinny girls wearing the skinny jeans. The comments are “Who is that size, really?”…I do agree but are they really any different than any Jean brand promoting their denim?? I do fit their jeans and for $19.00 a pair, I can have a couple pairs compared to JBrand, AG, Hudson (even though I do love these) etc for $200,00 or more a pop.

Yesterday was he first day in probably 4 months that my gams were clad….it tis the season!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. whatthemom
    Sep 18, 2013 @ 10:15:44

    I love all those boyfriend jean outfits. I live in mine! My favorites are the 7 For All Mankind Josefina – you can find them on ebay (but make sure you know the size and fit first).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

